A national model for Graduated Driver Licensing Programs has been around since the mid 1990s. Guidelines for states to produce their own GDL programs is provided by the model. Presently, no state follows all of the guidelines, and GDL applications vary widely from state to state.
The recommended guidelines are:
Stage 1: Learner’s Permit
State sets least age for a learner’s permit at no much younger compared to age 16;
Pass vision and understanding tests, including rules of the road, signs, and signals;
Completion of fundamental driver training;
Certified adult (who is no less than 21 years old) required in the vehicle at all times;
All occupants must wear seat belts;
Zero alcohol while driving;
Permit is visually unique from other driver licenses;
Must remain crash and conviction free for a minimum of six a few months to advance to future level;
Parental certification of 30 to 50 practice hours; so No use of portable electronic communication and entertainment devices.
Stage two: Intermediate (Provisional) License
Completion of Stage one; State sets least age of 16.5;
Pass a behind the wheel road test; Completion of advanced driver education training (safe operating decision-making, , risk education etc.)
All occupants need to put on seat belts; Licensed adult required in the car from 10 p.m. until 5 a.m. (e.g., nighttime steering restriction);
Zero alcohol while driving;
Driver improvement actions are set up at lower point level than for standard drivers;
Provisional license is visually distinctive from a regular license; Teenage-passenger restrictions: no more than a single teenage passenger for the first twelve weeks of intermediate license. Afterward, limit the number of teenage passengers to 2 until age 18;
Must be crash and conviction totally free for at the least 12 consecutive a few months to progress to another stage;
Supervised practice; so No use of portable electric entertainment and communication devices.
Stage 3: Full Licensure
Completion of Stage 2;
State sets minimum age of 18 for lifting passenger and nighttime restrictions; and Zero alcohol while driving.
Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
In order to understand the range of dissimilarities among states, let us check out the GDL laws of four states: California, Florida, Mississippi, and North Dakota.
The NHTSA recommends the state sets the minimum age for a learner’s permit at no younger than age 16. In California, the least age for a learner’s permit is 15 years, 6 months; in Florida and Mississippi, the minimum age is 15. The minimum age in North Dakota is 14.
Before acquiring a license or perhaps restricted license in Florida, fresh drivers need to have a required holding period of the learner’s license of 12 months; the other 3 states require six months. In Mississippi, license candidates age 17 and older are exempt from the holding period. The NHTSA recommends an intermediate (provisional) stage with a minimum age of 16.5. The candidate needs to stay crash and conviction totally free for at least six a few months to move forward from the learner’s permit to the intermediate level. They more propose that in the intermediate license phase, the candidate has to remain crash and conviction totally free for no less than twelve consecutive months to progress to complete licensure.
The NHTSA suggests parental certification of 30 to fifty practice hours of traveling in the learnerâEUR(TM)s permit level. While California and Florida each require 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night, neither Mississippi and neither North Dakota call for certification of any driving practice several hours.
Applicants in Mississippi must be age 15 years, 6 months before getting a license or perhaps restricted license. Florida, North Dakota, and California call for a minimum age of sixteen; however, in California, license candidates who don’t get driver education must wait until age 18 for a license. The NHTSA recommendation is for detailed licensure just after completion of the intermediate licensing stage, with a minimum age of 18 for lifting passenger and nighttime restrictions. But, North Dakota does not have any passenger or nighttime restrictions, and Florida and Mississippi have just nighttime restrictions. California’s passenger restriction is that for the very first 12 months, the restricted driver might not have any passengers younger than twenty, with restricted exclusions for immediate family.
One way to boost the website traffic crash figures for teenage drivers is to advocate for much stronger Graduated Driver Licensing requirements in the state of yours. In the meantime, you are able to bring down the risks for your own kids by ensuring that they obey existing GDL laws as well as by using several of the NHTSA’s guidelines into your own house rules if your state has somewhat weak GDL laws.